Zhi-Xin Wang

Prof. Zhi-Xin Wang graduated from Tsinghua University in 1977, majoring in chemistry. After he received his Ph.D.in biochemistry from Institute of Biophysics (IBP), Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1988, he became the associate professor of IBP. He did his postdoctoral research in Cornell University from 1989 to 1991 and then a two-year visiting research in North Dakota State University. He was promoted to professor in IBP in 1993, then the Director of National Laboratory of Biomacromolecules (1997-2003), and the Director of IBP (1999-2003). He was elected as the member of Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1997, and as a fellow of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) in 1999. He became a professor in the School of Life Sciences, Tsinghua University in 2003. In 2015, Prof. Wang joined the Medical College, Soochow University.

Prof. Wang has published over110 peer reviewed articles in biochemistry and structural biology, and his present research interests center on the physical chemistry of protein, kinetics of enzyme catalysis and regulation, protein-ligand interaction and prediction of protein three-dimensional structure.He combined mathematics and biology together to systematically study and unravel a series of important issues in molecular enzymology and structural biology. He has made innovative contributions tothe theory and applications of the kinetics of irreversible modification of enzyme activity. He has done systematic and in-depth studies on the molecular mechanisms of the regulation of important protein kinases and phosphatases in MAPK signalingpathway. He has won the Natural Science Award of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (First Class) in 1990, the National Natural Science Prize (Second Class) and the Young Scientist Award of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (First Class) in 1993, the Prize for Young Scientist of Chinaand the Outstanding Young Scientist Award of Hong Kong Qiushi Foundation in 1994. He has been elected as the vice-president of the Biophysical Society of China (2002-2006) and the president of the Chinese Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2005-2014).